Hockey East Online
Hobey Baker Award
Shop Online

David Emma – 1991
Boston College

In 2014, Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau became the seventh league player to earn college hockey's top individual honor. Only twice in 40 games has he been held without a point. Gaudreau had 36 goals and 44 assists for 80 points in 40 games, ranking first in the nation in points, goals and assists.

David Emma of Boston College was the league's first Hobey Baker recipient in 1991. An outstanding rookie named Paul Kariya captured the award while leading his Maine team to a NCAA title in 1993 after fellow Black Bear Scott Pellerin had collected the prestigious trophy in 1992.

After a four-year hiatus, Hockey East commenced its second string of winners when BU's Chris Drury was named college hockey's most dominant player in 1998. New Hampshire's Jason Krog added the trophy to his case in 1999 and BC defenseman Mike Mottau completed Hockey East's second triumvirate of winners when he stepped up to the medal stand in April of 2000..

In 2009, BU defenseman Matt Gilroy was the 29th recipient of the prestigious award. Gilroy notched a career-high 37 points in his senior campaign, while leading the Terriers to their fifth national title in school history.

The Hobey Baker Award is presented annually to the most outstanding college hockey player in the U.S. The Hobey Baker Award was initiated in 1981. Each year, a list of nominees from college coaches around the country is narrowed down to ten finalists and then narrowed down the three "Hobey Hat Trick", from which the winner is selected.

Hobey Baker Award
Johnny Gaudreau – 2014 - Boston College

Chris Drury – 1998
Boston University

Scott Pellerin – 1992
University of Maine

Jason Krog – 1999
New Hampshire

Paul Kariya – 1993
University of Maine

Mike Mottau – 2000
Boston College
Hobey Baker Award
Matt Gilroy – 2009
Boston University

Winners in Bold
1985 Tim Army, Providence   2000 Mike Mottau, Boston College
1986 Scott Harlow, Boston College   Ty Conklin, New Hampshire
  Chris Terreri, Providence   Jeff Farkas, Boston College
1987 John Cullen, Boston University   Brian Gionta, Boston College
  Craig Janney, Boston College 2001 Ty Conklin, New Hampshire
  Brian Leetch, Boston College   Brian Gionta, Boston College
1988 David Capuano, Maine 2002 Jim Fahey, Northeastern
  Mike Golden, Maine   Darren Haydar, New Hampshire
1989 Greg Brown, Boston College 2003 Ben Eaves, Boston College
  David Capuano, Maine 2004 Thomas Pöck, Massachusetts
  Tim Sweeney, Boston College   Steve Saviano, New Hampshire
1990 Rick Bennett, Providence   Tony Voce, Boston College
  Greg Brown, Boston College 2005 Patrick Eaves, Boston College
  David Emma, Boston College 2006 Chris Collins, Boston College
1991 David Emma, Boston College   Greg Moore, Maine
  Shawn McEachern, Boston Univ. 2007 John Curry, Boston University
  Jean-Yves Roy, Maine 2008 Nathan Gerbe, Boston College
1992 Scott Pellerin, Maine   Kevin Regan, New Hampshire
  Rob Gaudreau, Providence 2009 Matt Gilroy, Boston University
  Jean-Yves Roy, Maine   Viktor Stålberg, Vermont
1993 Paul Kariya, Maine   Brad Thiessen, Northeastern
  Jim Montgomery, Maine   Colin Wilson, Boston University
  David Sacco, Boston University 2010 Bobby Butler, New Hampshire
1994 Dwayne Roloson, UMass Lowell   Gustav Nyquist, Maine
1995 Greg Bullock, UMass Lowell 2011 Cam Atkinson, Boston College
  Chris Imes, Maine   Gustav Nyquist, Maine
  Mike Grier, Boston University   Paul Thompson, New Hampshire
1996 Chris Drury, Boston University 2012 Spencer Abbott, Maine
  Jay Pandolfo, Boston University   Brian Dumoulin, Boston College
1997 Chris Drury, Boston University 2013 Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College
1998 Chris Drury, Boston University 2014 Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College
  Jason Krog, New Hampshire   Kevin Hayes, Boston College
  Mark Mowers, New Hampshire    
1999 Jason Krog, New Hampshire    
  Brian Gionta, Boston College    
  Steve Kariya, Maine    
  Michel Larocque, Boston Univ.    
Hockey East Online
Hockey East Online is an Official Publication of the Hockey East Association. Copyright © 1997-2015.
All photographs and logos on this website are property of Hockey East, our member institutions, or are used with permission.
Please send any questions or comments to: | Shop Hockey East
Hockey East Online