Hockey East Online
Hockey East Press Releases
January 19, 2013
space Text Size Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size space print
Jonathan Quick (UMass) is one of 49 Hockey East alums named to NHL opening day rosters

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - A league-record 49 Hockey East alumni are featured on 2012-2013 National Hockey League opening rosters, which were announced on Saturday afternoon by the league office.

Boston College and Boston University led the way with representation on NHL rosters with 17 and 12, respectively, followed by Maine with five former players on NHL clubs. Boston College's Chris Kreider is the lone player from the 2011-12 Hockey East season to make an NHL opening roster this year. Kreider helped lead the Eagles to the 2012 NCAA Championship in Tampa, Fla., their third NCAA title in the last five seasons.

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and an eight-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won eight NCAA championships in the past 20 years. Since 1999, Hockey East has won six NCAA Championships and have placed 19 teams in the Frozen Four, along with 49 teams in the NCAA Tournament.

Here is the full listing sorted by Hockey East team:

Boston College Eagles (17) – Andrew Alberts (VAN), Cam Atkinson (CBJ), Brian Boyle (NYR), Scott Clemmensen (FLA), Patrick Eaves (DET), Nathan Gerbe (BUF), Brian Gionta (MTL), Stephen Gionta (NJ), Peter Harrold (NJ), Chris Kreider (NYR), Chuck Kobasew (COL), Ben Lovejoy (PIT), Brooks Orpik (PIT), Nick Petrecki (SJS), Marty Reasoner (NYI), Cory Schneider (VAN), Rob Scuderi (LA)

Boston University Terriers (12) – Adrian Aucoin (CBJ), Nick Bonino (ANA), Chris Bourque (BOS), Rick DiPietro (NYI), Matt Gilroy (NYR), Tom Poti (WAS), Kevin Shattenkirk (STL), Brian Strait (NYI), David Warsofsky (BOS), Ryan Whitney (EDM), Colin Wilson (NASH), Brandon Yip (NASH)

Maine Black Bears (5) – Ben Bishop (OTT), Jimmy Howard (DET), Mike Lundin (OTT), Dustin Penner (LAK), Teddy Purcell (TBL)

Massachusetts Minutemen (4) – Justin Braun (SJS), Matt Irwin (SJS), Mike Kostka (TOR), Jonathan Quick (LAK)

UMass-Lowell River Hawks (1) – Ron Hainsey (WPG)

New Hampshire Wildcats (3) – Bobby Butler (NJD), James van Riemsdyk (TOR), Daniel Winnik (ANA)

Northeastern Huskies (1) – Joe Vitale (PIT)

Providence College Friars (4) – Mark Fayne (NJD), Hal Gill (NASH), Colin McDonald (NYI), Matt Taormina (TBL)

Vermont Catamounts (2) – Torrey Mitchell (MIN), Patrick Sharp (CHI)*, Viktor Stεlberg (CHI), Martin St. Louis (TBL)*

Here is a list by NHL Club

Anaheim (2) – Nick Bonino (BU), Daniel Winnik (UNH)

Boston (2) – Chris Bourque (BU), David Warsofsky (BU)

Buffalo (1) – Nathan Gerbe (BC)

Chicago (1) – Patrick Sharp (UVM)*, Viktor Stεlberg (UVM)

Colorado (1) – Chuck Kobasew (BC)

Columbus (2) – Cam Atkinson (BC), Adrian Aucoin (BU)

Detroit (2) – Patrick Eaves (BC), Jimmy Howard (Maine)

Edmonton (1) – Ryan Whitney (BU)

Florida (1) – Scott Clemmensen (BC)

Los Angeles (3) – Dustin Penner (Maine), Jonathan Quick (UMass), Rob Scuderi (BC)

Minnesota (1) – Torrey Mitchell (UVM)

Montreal (1) – Brian Gionta (BC)

Nashville (3) - Hall Gill (PC), Colin Wilson (BU), Brandon Yip (BU)

New Jersey (4) – Bobby Butler (UNH), Mark Fayne (PC), Stephen Gionta (BC), Peter Harrold (BC)

N.Y. Islanders (4) – Rick DiPietro (BU), Colin McDonald (PC), Marty Reasoner (BC), Brian Strait (BU)

N.Y. Rangers (3) – Brian Boyle (BC), Matt Gilroy (BU), Chris Kreider (BC)

Ottawa (2) – Ben Bishop (Maine), Mike Lundin (Maine)

Pittsburgh (3) – Ben Lovejoy (BC), Brooks Orpik (BC), Joe Vitale (NU)

St. Louis (1) – Kevin Shattenkirk (BU)

San Jose (3) – Justin Braun (UMass), Matt Irwin (UMass), Nick Petrecki (BC)

Tampa Bay (2) – Teddy Purcell (Maine), Martin St. Louis (UVM)*, Matt Taormina (PC)

Toronto (2) – Mike Kostka (UMass), James van Riemsdyk (UNH)

Vancouver (2) – Andrew Alberts (BC), Cory Schneider (BC)

Washington (1) – Tom Poti (BU)

Winnipeg (1) – Ron Hainsey (UML)

* did not compete in Hockey East

Hockey East Online
Hockey East Online is an Official Publication of the Hockey East Association. Copyright © 1997-2015.
All photographs and logos on this website are property of Hockey East, our member institutions, or are used with permission.
Please send any questions or comments to: | Shop Hockey East
Hockey East Online