Hockey East Online
Hockey East Press Releases
April 12, 2013
space Text Size Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size space print
Six Hockey East Skaters Named CCM Hockey AHCA Division I All-Americans
BC's Johnny Gaudreau and Steven Whitney, UML's Chad Ruhwedel and UNH's Trevor van Riemsdyk honored as First-Team selections
First-Teamers: Johnny Gaudreau, Chad Ruhwedel, Trevor van Riemsdyk and Steven Whitney

Twenty different Division I hockey-playing schools can celebrate players honored as CCM Hockey All Americans for the 2012-13 season. The nation's top 25 college hockey players were announced tonight at the NCAA Men's Division I Frozen Four in Pittsburgh, PA. Leading the way with three selections was St. Lawrence University, one earning First Team honors and the other two chosen on the Second Team. Three NCAA semifinalists —UMass Lowell, Quinnipiac, and Yale — each had a single honoree while the fourth, St. Cloud State, had a pair. Noteworthy this year:

- Only two players had been recognized previously: RPI senior defenseman Nick Bailen, a First Team choice this year, earned Second Team honors in 2011, while Western Michigan junior defenseman Dan DeKeyser repeated as a Second Team blueliner.

- There are a whopping 22 players from the United States, just two from Canada and one from Finland.

- The U.S. selections come from Minnesota (8), Michigan (4), Massachusetts (3), New Jersey (2), New York (2), California (1), Florida (1) and Maine (1). The Canadian honorees hail from Alberta (1) and Ontario (1).

- Ten of the honorees are seniors. Of the other 15, eight are juniors, five are sophomores and two are freshmen.

- The ECAC and WCHA each had seven All-Americans, followed by six from Hockey East and five from the CCHA.

- Fifteen players participated in the NCAA Tournament. Five of them advanced to the "Frozen Four."

The CCM HOCKEY ALL-AMERICAN ICE HOCKEY TEAMS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

First Team
Eric Hartzell, SR, Quinnipiac University
(White Bear Lake, MN)
Brady Hjelle, SR, The Ohio State University
(International Falls, MN)
Nick Bailen, SR, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute#
(Fredonia, NY)
Nick Jensen, JR, St. Cloud State University
(Rogers, MN)
Chad Ruhwedel, JR, UMass Lowell
(San Diego, CA)
Jacob Trouba, FR, University of Michigan
(Rochester, MI)
Trevor van Riemsdyk, SO, Univ. of New Hampshire
(Middletown, NJ)
Kyle Flanagan, SR, St. Lawrence University
(Canton, NY)
Austin Czarnik, SO, Miami University
(Washington, MI)
Johnny Gaudreau, SO, Boston College
(Carneys Point, NJ)
Danny Kristo, SR, University of North Dakota
(Eden Prairie, MN)
Steven Whitney, SR, Boston College
(Reading, MA)
Drew LeBlanc, SR, St. Cloud State University
(Hermantown, MN)

Second Team
Jon Gillies, FR, Providence College
(South Portland, ME)
Juho Olkinuora, SO, University of Denver
(Helsinki, Finland)
Shayne Gostisbehere, SO, Union College
(Margate, FL)
Dan DeKeyser, JR, Western Michigan University*
(Clay Township, MI)
George Hughes, SR, St. Lawrence University
(Westwood, MA)
Nate Schmidt, JR, University of Minnesota
(St. Cloud, MN)
Greg Carey, JR, St. Lawrence University
(Hamilton, ON)
Corban Knight, SR, University of North Dakota
(High River, AB)
Mike Collins, JR, Merrimack College
(Boston, MA)
Anders Lee, JR, University of Notre Dame
(Edina, MN)
Andrew Miller, SR, Yale University
(Bloomfield Hills, MI)
Ryan Walters, JR, University of Nebraska-Omaha
(Rosemount, MN)
* Second Team in 2011-12; # Second Team in 2010-11

Hockey East Online
Hockey East Online is an Official Publication of the Hockey East Association. Copyright © 1997-2015.
All photographs and logos on this website are property of Hockey East, our member institutions, or are used with permission.
Please send any questions or comments to: | Shop Hockey East
Hockey East Online