March 20, 2014
~ Boston College Lands Three On First Team ~
UMass Lowell, Maine and Boston College were all represented with First Team All-Stars

Wakefield, Mass. - The Hockey East Association announced its 2013-2014 All-Star Teams on Thursday night at the Hockey East Championship banquet at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge, Mass.

The First Team consists of three players from Boston College, two from Maine, and one from UMass Lowell. Junior forward Johnny Gaudreau (Carneys Point, N.J.), senior forward Kevin Hayes (Dorchester, Mass.) and sophomore defenseman Michael Matheson (Pointe-Claire, Que.) are the representatives from the Eagles, marking the fourth-straight year that BC has placed multiple players on the First Team. Gaudreau and Hayes are first and second in Division I, respectively, in scoring, as Gaudreau has 32-37—69 totals and Hayes has a line of 24-32—56. Matheson's selection to the First Team comes a year after he was unanimously selected for the All-Rookie Team.

UMass Lowell sophomore netminder Connor Hellebuyck (Commerce, Mich.) was named to the First Team this season after earning Second Team honors as a freshman. Through two seasons and 49 games played in college, Hellebuyck is 35-11-2 with a 1.63 GAA, .944 save percentage and ten shutouts.

A pair of sophomore Black Bears round out the First Team, with defenseman Ben Hutton (Prescott, Ont.) and forward Devin Shore (Ajax, Ont.) being named to the squad. Hutton set the single-season program record for goals by a defenseman with 15, also becoming the first blueliner to ever lead Maine in goal scoring. Shore led the Black Bears in scoring with 14 goals and 29 assists for 43 points in 35 games.

The Northeastern Huskies landed three players on the Second Team, with redshirt-junior goalie Clay Witt (Brandon, Fla.), junior defenseman Josh Manson (Prince Albert, Sask.) and sophomore forward Kevin Roy (Lac-Beauport, Que.) earning all-conference honors. UNH, who eliminated NU in the Hockey East Quarterfinals, had a pair of players chosen for the Second Team, senior defenseman Eric Knodel (West Chester, Pa.) and senior forward Kevin Goumas (Long Beach, N.Y.). Rounding out the Second Team are Vermont forward Chris McCarthy (Collegeville, Pa.) and Notre Dame senior defenseman Stephen Johns (Wampum, Pa.).

Five players also received Honorable Mention: Boston College freshman goalie Thatcher Demko (San Diego, Calif.), Boston College senior forward Bill Arnold (Needham, Mass.), Boston University senior defenseman Garrett Noonan (Norfolk, Mass.), Providence College junior forward Ross Mauermann (Janesville, Wis.), and Vermont junior defenseman Michael Paliotta (Westport, Conn.).

Hockey East First-Team All-Stars
G: Connor Hellebuyck, UMass-Lowell (So., Commerce, Mich.)
D: Ben Hutton, Maine (So., Prescott, Ont.)
D: Michael Matheson, Boston College (So., Pointe-Claire, Que.)
F: Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College (Jr., Carneys Point, N.J.) *
F: Kevin Hayes, Boston College (Sr., Dorchester, Mass.)
F: Devin Shore, Maine (So., Ajax, Ont.)
* - Denotes Unanimous Selection

Hockey East Second Team All-Stars
G: Clay Witt, Northeastern (Jr., Brandon, Fla.)
D: Stephen Johns, Notre Dame (Sr., Wampum, Pa.)
D: Eric Knodel, New Hampshire (Sr., West Chester, Pa.)
D: Josh Manson, Northeastern (Jr., Prince Albert, Sask.)
F: Kevin Goumas, New Hampshire (Sr., Long Beach, N.Y.)
F: Chris McCarthy, Vermont (Sr., Collegeville, Pa.)
F: Kevin Roy, Northeastern (So., Lac-Beauport, Que.)

Hockey East Honorable Mention All-Stars
G: Thatcher Demko, Boston College (Fr., San Diego, Calif.)
D: Garrett Noonan, Boston University (Sr., Norfolk, Mass.)
D: Michael Paliotta, Vermont (Jr., Westport, Conn.)
F: Bill Arnold, Boston College (Sr., Needham, Mass.)
F: Ross Mauermann, Providence (Jr., Janesville, Wis.)

Bonus Features:
Video: 2013-2014 HEA Plays of the Year
Video: HEA Player of the Year Nominees
Video: HEA Rookie of the Year Nominees
Video: HEA Coach of the Year Nominees

Hockey East Men's Mobile Menu
Men's Home Page
HEA Scoreboard
National Scoreboard
Online Store
Women's Home Page