Hockey East Online Hockey East Online
Hockey East Online
Hockey East All-Stars
March 20, 2008
~Eight of 10 league teams represented on All-Star squads~


BU's Pete MacArthur is a three-time Hockey East All-Star
space space space
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- – The Hockey East Association today announced its 2007-08 All-Star teams, and eight of the 10 Hockey East teams were represented among the selections. Regular season champion University of New Hampshire led the way as all five of its seniors were chosen, making it one of the most decorated senior classes in Hockey East history.

UNH goaltender and CCM/RBK Hockey East Player of the Year Kevin Regan (South Boston, Mass.) was the only unanimous First Team All-Star, but was joined on the top squad by teammates Brad Flaishans (Glendale, Ariz.) and Mike Radja (Yorkville, Ill.) Boston University forwards Bryan Ewing (Plymouth, Mass.) and Pete MacArthur (Clifton Park, N.Y.) finished 1-2 in Hockey East scoring this season, together leading a resurgent Terrier team, and were subsequently selected as First Team All-Stars, as was BU defenseman Matt Gilroy (North Bellmore, N.Y.) Boston College sniper Nathan Gerbe (Oxford, Mich.) rounded out the First Team.

The Second Team was much more diverse, representing six different teams. UMass Lowell forward Kory Falite (Billerica, Mass.) was the only sophomore All-Star, as he led all players in league play this season with 15 goals. UNH’s Matt Fornataro (Calgary, Alb.) and Northeastern’s Joe Vitale (St. Louis, Mo.) were the other forwards, while the defensemen were UMass’ Mike Kostka (Ajax, Ont.), UNH’s Craig Switzer (Peachland, B.C.) and Matt Taormina (Washington Township, Mich.) of Providence College. Maine’s Ben Bishop (Des Peres, Mo.) was chosen as the Second Team’s goaltender, boasting a .923 save percentage in league play, second only to Regan.

The Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team was also diverse. The University of Massachusetts had two selections, forward James Marcou (King Park, N.Y.) and goaltender Paul Dainton (Genelle, B.C.), as did Boston University in forward Colin Wilson (Winnipeg, Man.), the league’s Rookie of the Year, and defenseman Kevin Shattenkirk (New Rochelle, N.Y.) Semifinalists BC and UNH had one player each named among the best rookies, as did UMass Lowell.

2007-08 Hockey East All-Stars
First Team
Second Team
Kevin Regan (UNH, Sr., G) *
Ben Bishop (Maine, Jr., G)
Brad Flaishans (UNH, Sr., D)
Mike Kostka (UMass, Sr., D)
Matt Gilroy (BU, Jr., D) 1
Craig Switzer (UNH, Sr., D)
Nathan Gerbe (BC, Jr., F) 1
Matt Taormina (PC, Jr., D)
Bryan Ewing (BU, Sr., F)
Kory Falite (UML, So., F)
Pete MacArthur (BU, Sr., F) 2 4
Matt Fornataro (UNH, Sr., F)
Mike Radja (UNH, Sr., F)
Joe Vitale (NU, Sr., F)
* – unanimous choice
1 – First Team All-Star in 2006-07
2 – Second Team All-Star in 2006-07
3 – First Team All-Star in 2005-06
4 – Second Team All-Star in 2005-06

Honorable Mention All-Stars -
Goaltender: Joe Fallon (Vermont)
Defensemen: Bret Tyler (Maine), Cody Wild (Providence)
Forwards: Matt Jones (Merrimack), Jon Rheault (Providence), Viktor Stalberg (Vermont)

2007-08 PRO AMBITIONS All-Rookie Team
Paul Dainton Massachusetts Goaltender
Maury Edwards UMass Lowell Defense
Kevin Shattenkirk Boston University Defense
James Marcou Massachusetts Forward
Joe Whitney Boston College Forward
James vanRiemsdyk New Hampshire Forward
Colin Wilson Boston University Forward
The Hockey East Shop