Hockey East Online Hockey East Online
Hockey East Online
April 11, 2008
~First-Team headlined by BC's Gerbe and BU's Gilroy; 'Cats Radja and Regan~


BU's Matt Gilroy was named All-American for the second time
space space space
DENVER, Colo. -- The Hockey East Assocation placed eight student-athletes on the 2008 RBK All-America Teams, as announced by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) on Friday night on the off-day of the Frozen Four.

The league garnered four of the six spots on each of the First and Second-Teams. Junior forward Nathan Gerbe (Oxford, Mich.) of Boston College and senior forward Mike Radja (Yorkville, Ill.) of New Hampshire secured first-time selections at forward, while Wildcat senior netminder Kevin Regan (South Boston, Mass.) and Boston University junior blueliner Matt Gilroy (North Bellemore, N.Y.) also earned spots on the First-Team. Gilroy was named an All-American for the second-straight season; he was a Second-Team selection in 2006-07.

UNH senior captain Matt Fornataro (Calgary, Alb.), along with BU senior Pete MacArthur (Clifton Park, N.Y.) and Bryan Ewing (Plymouth, Mass.) earned spots at forward on the Second-Team, while Wildcat senior blueliner Brad Flaishans (Glendale, Ariz.) also took home Second-Team honors. Gerbe, a first-team All-Hockey East honoree and a Hobey Baker Hat Trick Finalist, has tallied 64 points (33g,31a) in 42 games. The BC Eagle earned All- Tournament Team accolades at both the NCAA Northeast Regional as well as at the Hockey East Tournament. Gerbe captured Hockey East Tournament Most Valuable Player honors after he registered nine points (4g,5a) in four BC victories. Gilroy tallied 21 points this season on six goals and 15 assists and tied MacArthur for the team lead with a plus-17 rating.

Radja, a first-team All-Hockey East selection and a New England All Star, ranked second behind Fornataro in scoring, but led the ‘Cats with 19 goals including his team-best six game-winning goals which ranked fourth nationally. Regan was named a Hobey Baker finalist, Hockey East Player of the Year, New England’s Most Valuable Player, Walter Brown Award winner (given annually to the top American-born college hockey player in New England) and selected to the All-Hockey East First Team. He posted a 2.21 GAA and a .930 save percentage, which ranked sixth nationally.

MacArthur (21-24--45) and Bryan Ewing (17-26--43) were BU’s top scorers this season, as MacArthur led the team in scoring for the third straight year - a feat last achieved by Chris Drury. The duo finished 1-2 in Hockey East scoring during league play, as Ewing recorded 35 points (13g, 22a) and MacArthur tallied 34 (14g, 20a). Flaishans, a first-team All-Hockey East and a New England All Star, was among the top offensive defensemen in Hockey East ranking third at 0.65 ppg (5g, 19a). He was the leading scorer among UNH defenseman and had a +8 rating this season.

Fornataro, a second-team All-Hockey East selection and a New England All Star, led the Wildcats in scoring with 46 points (18g, 28a). A senior captain, Fornataro appeared in 156 games over his four years at UNH, tallying 44 goals and 74 assists, ranking among the top 50 all-time scorers in UNH history.

With the addition of eight All-Americans this year, the league has boasted 167 All-America selections in the 24-year history of the conference.

First Team
Kevin Regan, SR, Univ. of New Hampshire
(South Boston, MA)
Richard Bachman, FR, Colorado College
(Highlands Ranch, CO)
Matt Gilroy, JR, Boston University*
(North Bellemore, NY)
Tyler Eckford, JR, Univ. of Alaska
(Langley, BC)
Mike Moore, SR, Princeton University
(Calgary, AB)
Jack Hillen, SR, Colorado College
(Minnetonka, MN)
Nathan Gerbe, JR, Boston College
(Oxford, MI)
Ryan Jones, SR, Miami University
(Chatham, ON)
Lee Jubinville, JR, Princeton University
(Edmonton, AB)
T.J. Oshie, JR, Univ. of North Dakota
(Warroad, MN)
Mike Radja, SR, Univ. of New Hampshire
(Yorkville, IL)
Kevin Porter, SR, Univ. of Michigan
(Northville, MI)
Second Team
Josh Kassel, JR, U.S. Military Academy
(Greensburg, PA)
Jeff Lerg, JR, Michigan State
(Livonia, MI)
Grant Clitsome, SR, Clarkson University
(Gloucester, ON)
Chris Butler, JR, Univ. of Denver
(St. Louis, MO)
Brad Flaishans, SR, Univ. of New Hampshire
(Glendale, AZ)
Alec Martinez, JR, Miami University
(Rochester, MI)
Bryan Ewing, SR, Boston University
(Plymouth, MA)
Chad Kolarik, SR, Univ. of Michigan
(Abington, PA)
Matt Fornataro, SR, Univ. of New Hampshire
(Calgary, AB)
Ryan Lasch, SO, St. Cloud State Univ.
(Lake Forest, CA)
Peter MacArthur, SR, Boston University
(Clifton Park, NY)
Chad Rau, JR, Colorado College
(Eden Prairie, MN)
* Second Team in 2006-2007

The Hockey East Shop