Hockey East Online Hockey East Online
Hockey East Online
March 14, 2009


Maine's Paul Kariya and BU's Chris Drury were unanimous selections
space space space
WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association is pleased to announced the 25 Top Forwards in league history, as the league continues its 25th Anniversary celebration. The 25 forwards were chosen in a vote comprised of Hockey East fans and members of the league’s 25th Anniversary Committee.

The team was comprised of eight players from Boston College, seven players from Boston University, four players from New Hampshire, two from Providence College and one from UMass-Lowell.

Headling the list were BU’s Chris Drury and Maine’s Paul Kariya as the two unanimous selections to the team. The list also includes; Brian Boyle, Ben Eaves, David Emma, Nathan Gerbe, Brian Gionta, Craig Janney, Marty Reasoner and Kevin Stevens all from the Boston College Eagles. Boston University was also represented well on the team as Tony Amonte, John Cullen, Chris Drury, Mike Grier, Shawn McEachern, Jay Pandolfo and David Sacco were the Terriers named to the all-time forwards team.

In addition to Kariya, Jim Montgomery, Scott Pellerin and Jean-Yves Roy represented the Maine Black Bears. The New Hampshire Wildcats trio of Darren Haydar, Jason Krog and Mark Mowers were also named to the team. UMass-Lowell’s Jon Morris, along with Tim Army and Rob Gaudreau from Providence College were also honored.

Honorable Mention on the Top Forwards Team included: Niko Dimitrakos (Maine), Patrick Eaves, Steve Heinze and Tim Sweeney all from Boston College and Rejean Stringer from Merrimack College.

Hockey East’s Top 25 forwards were chosen by a fan vote through the league’s official website – - and votes from Hockey East’s 25th Anniversary Committee, which includes representatives from each Hockey East school.

Throughout the season, fans have cast their ballots for Hockey East’s All-Time Team, Top 25 Forwards, and Top 25 Defenders. In addition to these major categories, a number of other ballot questions appeared at regular intervals throughout the year. All fan voting is now complete.

The league has already announced the results of nine previous polls conducted during the 25th anniversary celebration, including: Top Goalie (Chris Terreri - PC), Best Goal Scorer (Brian Gionta - BC), Best Playmaker (Paul Kariya - Maine), Best Defensive Defenseman (Brian Leetch - BC), Best Defensive Forward (Chris Drury - BU), the Naukabout Unsung Player (Scott Clemmensen – BC), Humboldt Storage and Moving Top-3 Best Coaching Performances, Top-3 Most Memorable Moments and the SwingJuice Top-3 Best Individual Performances.

Hockey East Top 25 Forwards

Brian Boyle, Boston College
Ben Eaves, Boston College
David Emma, Boston College
Nathan Gerbe, Boston College
Brian Gionta, Boston College
Craig Janney, Boston College
Marty Reasoner, Boston College
Kevin Stevens, Boston College
Tony Amonte, Boston University
John Cullen, Boston University
Chris Drury, Boston University
Mike Grier, Boston University
Shawn McEachern, Boston University
Jay Pandolfo, Boston University
David Sacco, Boston University
Paul Kariya, Maine
Jim Montgomery, Maine
Scott Pellerin, Maine
Jean Yves-Roy, Maine
Darren Haydar, New Hampshire
Jason Krog, New Hampshire
Mark Mowers, New Hampshire
Jon Morris, UMass-Lowell
Tim Army, Providence
Rob Gaudreau, Providence

Honorable Mention
Niko Dimitrakos, Maine
Patrick Eaves, Boston College
Steve Heinze, Boston College
Rejean Stringer, Merrimack
Tim Sweeney, Boston College

The Hockey East Shop