Hockey East Online Hockey East Online
Hockey East Online
March 18, 2010
~New Hampshire leads the way with three First-Team selections~


Maine's Gustav Nyquist was a unanimous First Team All-Star
space space space

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Hockey East Association announced its 2009-10 All-Stars and major individual award winners Thursday. The recipients will be honored at tonight’s championship banquet at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge, Mass.

Athletic Republic Player of the Year Bobby Butler (Marlboro, Mass.) is joined among the first-team All-Stars by UNH teammates Brian Foster (Pembroke, N.H.), a senior goaltender, and second-year defenseman Blake Kessel (Verona, Wis.) The other defensemen were BU’s Colby Cohen (Villanova, Pa.) and UMass captain Justin Braun (Vadnais Heights, Minn.), who yesterday won the league’s Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman award. Joining Butler on the forward ranks were fellow scoring champion Gustav Nyquist (Malmo, Sweden), a sophomore at Maine, and Brian Gibbons (Braintree, Mass.) of Boston College. Nyquist was the only unanimous selection to the First-Team honorees.

Merrimack's Stephane Da Costa (Paris, France) was the only freshman on either squad, earning second-team honors. The other second-team forwards were UMass’ James Marcou (Kings Park, N.Y.) and BC sophomore Cam Atkinson (Greenwich, Conn.) Maine’s Jeff Dimmen (Colorado Springs, Colo.) was one half of the second-team defense with UMass Lowell co-captain Jeremy Dehner (Madison, Wis.) the other. Fellow River Hawk Carter Hutton (Thunder Bay, Ont.) was selected as the second-team netminder.

Hockey East First-Team All-Stars
G: Brian Foster, New Hampshire (Sr., Pembroke, N.H.)
D: Justin Braun, Massachusetts (Sr., Vadnais Heights, Minn.)
D: Colby Cohen, Boston University (Jr., Villanova, Pa.)
D: Blake Kessel, New Hampshire (So., Verona, Wis.)
F: Bobby Butler, New Hampshire (Sr., Marlboro, Mass.)
F: Brian Gibbons, Boston College (Jr., Braintree, Mass.)
F: Gustav Nyquist, Maine * (So., Malmo, Sweden)
* unanimous selection

Hockey East Second-Team All-Stars
G: Carter Hutton, UMass-Lowell (Sr., Thunder Bay, Ont.)
D: Jeremy Dehner, UMass-Lowell (Sr., Madison, Wis.)
D: Jeff Dimmen, Maine (Jr., Colorado Springs, Col.)
F: Cam Atkinson, Boston College (So., Greenwich, Conn.)
F: Stephane Da Costa, Merrimack College (Fr., Paris, France)
F: James Marcou, Massachusetts (Jr., Kings Park, N.Y.)

Hockey East Honorable Mention All-Stars
G: Alex Beaudry, Providence College (So., Cumberland, Ont.)
D: Carl Sneep, Boston College (Sr., Nisswa, Minn.)
D: Mark Fayne, Providence College (Sr., Sagamore Beach, Mass.)
F: Nick Bonino, Boston University (Jr., Unionville, Conn.)
F: Brian Flynn, Maine (So., Lynnfield, Mass.)
F: Casey Wellman, Massachusetts (So., Brentwood, Calif.)

The Hockey East Shop