Hockey East Online Hockey East Online
Hockey East Online
March 19, 2010
~League announces 10 school Fan Favorites during the Decade~


The All-Decade Team was announced at TD Garden
space space space
WAKEFIELD, Mass. -- The Hockey East All-Decade Team, featuring 21 Hockey East alumni, was announced at the TD Garden during the 2010 Hockey East Tournament Semifinals on Friday night. The All-Decade Team is led by seven selections from Boston College, four from Maine, three from Boston University, two from both Northeastern and New Hampshire and one student-athlete from UMass Lowell, Massachusetts and Vermont.

Three netminders were named to the All-Decade Team, including Maine’s Jimmy Howard (2002-05), who was named the 2004 Hockey East Tournament Most Valuable Player. Howard, an All-American, set NCAA records in GAA (1.19) and save percentage (.956).

Northeastern’s Brad Thiessen (2006-09), who led the Huskies to their most successful campaign in recent memory, was named to the squad after being named the 2009 HE Player of the Year, a First Team All-American and a Hobey Baker Finalist. Finally, BU’s John Curry (2003-07) rounded out the trio. Curry was the Terriers’ backbone, a three-time HE All-Star, two-time All-American, HE Player of the Year and Hobey Baker Finalist.

Six blueliners were honored on the All-Decade Team, highlighted by the league’s two Hobey Baker Award winners from the decade in BU’s Matt Gilroy (2005- 09) and BC’s Mike Mottau (1997-2000). Gilroy was a three-time All-American and three-time HE First Team All-Star, the only league defenseman to do so in HE history. As captain of the Terriers, he led his squad to the 2009 National Championship. Gilroy captured the Hobey Baker Award in 2009, while Mottau did the same in 2000. The Eagles’ defenseman was the 2000 HE Player of the Year, three-time All-American and HE All-Star.

Fellow Eagle Andrew Alberts (2001-05) was also named to the All-Decade Team, while the BC defenseman was a two-time HE All-Star and All-American. Massachusetts Thomas Pöck (2000-04) was a two-time HE All-Star, Hobey Baker Finalist in 2004 and an All-American.

Northeastern’s Jim Fahey (1998-02) was a two-time HE All-Star, as well as an All-American and Hobey Baker Finalist. UMass Lowell’s Ron Hainsey (1999-2001) was also a HE All-Star and All-American.

The impressive list of forwards includes 12 former league All-Stars including four-time All-American and HE All-Star Brian Gionta of Boston College (1997- 2001). The talented scorer led the Eagles to a National Championship in 2001 and was a three-time Hobey Baker Finalist. He was named the 2001 Hockey East Player of the Year, as a senior. Four more Eagles were named to the list, including Nathan Gerbe (2005-08) was a two-time HE All-Star a Hobey Baker Finalist and All-American. He was named the 2008 HE Tournament MVP, the same year that he led his squad to a National Championship. Former teammate Brian Boyle (2003-07), a two-time All-American and HE All-Star, was also selected to the All-Decade Team.

Rounding out the Boston College representation were brothers Patrick and Ben Eaves. Patrick (2002-05) and his older brother Ben (2000-04) were each named HE Player of the Year (2005 and 2003, respectively) and were both honored as two-time All-Americans, Hobey Finalists and two-time league All-Stars

Maine’s Niko Dimitrakos was named both an All-American and HE All-Star, while fellow Black Bear Michel Léveillé was twice honored as a league All-Star and All-American. Greg Moore (2002-06), also out of Orono, was a Hobey Baker Finalist in 2006, the same year he was named HE Player of the Year and earned All- American honors.

New Hampshire named two former student-athletes to the All-Decade team in Darren Haydar (1998-2002) and Steve Saviano (2000-04). Haydar was named the 2002 HE Tournament MVP and was a three-time league All-Star. He was honored as the 2002 HE Player of the Year and a Hobey Finalist and All-American in the same year. Saviano had a breakout senior campaign in 2004, when he was named HE Player of the Year, All-American, Hobey Baker Finalist and HE All-Star. Joining former Terrier goaltender and defenseman is forward Colin Wilson (2007-09) who was named 2008 HE Rookie of the Year before following up his freshman campaign with a stellar sophomore year that saw him win a National Championship, earn All-American status, as well as Hobey Baker Finalist and HE All-Star.

The lone representative from Vermont, Viktor Stålberg (2006-09), was the offensive catalyst on Vermont’s Frozen Four-bound team in 2009. He was a Hobey Baker Finalist, All-American and league All-Star.

Fans were also able to vote on the All-Decade Fan Favorite team, where they were able to select their favorite Hockey East student-athletes from each institution the past 10 years. The team was comprised of Gionta (BC), Gilroy (BU), Howard (Maine), Haydar (UNH), Thiessen (NU) and UMass’ James Marcou (2007- present), UMass Lowell’s Kory Falite (2006-10), Merrimack’s Joe Exter (2000-03), Providence’s Devin Rask (1999-2003) and Vermont’s Peter Lenes (2005-09).


Jimmy Howard – Maine (2002-2005)
Brad Thiessen – Northeastern (2006-2009)
John Curry - Boston U. (2003-2007)

Matt Gilroy - Boston U. (2005-2009)
Mike Mottau - Boston College (1997-2000)
Andrew Alberts - Boston College (2001-2005)
Thomas Pöck – Massachusetts (2000-2004)
Jim Fahey – Northeastern (1998-2002)
Ron Hainsey - UMass-Lowell (1999-2001)

Forwards: Brian Gionta - Boston College (1997-2001)
Nathan Gerbe - Boston College (2005-2008)
Patrick Eaves - Boston College (2002-2005)
Niko Dimitrakos – Maine (1998-2002)
Brian Boyle - Boston College (2003-2007)
Darren Haydar- New Hampshire (1998-2002)
Ben Eaves- Boston College (2000-2004)
Colin Wilson- Boston U. (2007-2009)
Michel Léveillé - Maine (2003-2007)
Greg Moore- Maine (2002-2006)
Viktor Stalberg- Vermont (2006-2009)
Steve Saviano- New Hampshire (2000-2004)

Brian Gionta- BC (1997-2001)
Matt Gilroy – BU (2005-2009)
Jimmy Howard – Maine (2002-2005)
James Marcou – UMass (2007-present)
Kory Falite – UML (2006-2010)
Joe Exter – Merrimack (2000-2003)
Darren Haydar – UNH (1998-2002)
Brad Thiessen – NU (2006-2009)
Devin Rask- PC (1999-2003)
Peter Lenes- Vermont (2005-2009)

The Hockey East Shop