

PRESS RELEASE

contact: Brian Smith | bsmith@hockeyeastonline.com | 339.227.2988 | @brismi22 591 North Avenue #2 | Wakefield. MA | 01880 | 781.245.2122

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 21, 2019

Hockey East Unveils 35th Anniversary Team

70 Players Honored As League's Best Ahead of 35th Annual Championship

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association today unveiled the All-Hockey East 35th Anniversary Team, comprised of the league's top 35 forwards and top 35 defenders, including defensemen and goaltenders, as voted on by fans, the league's head coaches, officials and media members.

The team is comprised of players from 10 of the 11 Hockey East institutions, including 16 from Boston College, 14 from Boston University and Maine, eight from New Hampshire, six from Northeastern, four from UMass Lowell, three from Massachusetts and Providence, and one each from Merrimack and Vermont.

Headlining the team were the two highest vote-getters in Maine's **Paul Kariya** (719 points) and Massachusetts' **Jonathan Quick** (695 points.) The other top point-getters were forwards **Johnny Gaudreau** (699/Boston College), **Chris Drury** (693/Boston University), **Brian Gionta** (685/Boston College), and **Jack Eichel** (679/Boston University) and defenders **Brian Leetch** (676/Boston College), **Ben Bishop** (673/Maine), **Jimmy Howard** (659/Maine), and **Charlie McAvoy** (659/Boston University). The team consists of 10 Hobey Baker winners and nearly each player selected as the league's Player of the Year over the course of its illustrious history. Additionally, the team features just one current player in Massachusetts sophomore defenseman **Cale Makar** (Calgary, Alta.) who on Wednesday was named as the sole unanimous selection to the All-Hockey East First Team.

Hockey East's Top 35 forwards and defenders were chosen by a fan vote through the league's official website – HockeyEastOnline. com - and votes from Hockey East's 35th Anniversary Committee, which included representatives from each Hockey East school, members of the media, and the league's head coaches.

The 35th Hockey East Tournament championship will take place this weekend, Friday, March 22, and Saturday, March 23, at the TD Garden in Boston. No. 3 Northeastern will square off with No. 5 Boston University Friday at 4 p.m., while No. 1 Massachusetts and No. 7 Boston College take the ice at 7:30 p.m. The winners advance to Saturday's championship tilt at 7 p.m. Fans can purchase tickets online at Ticketmaster.com or by calling 800-745-3000.

The All-Hockey East 35th Anniversary Team (Chosen in March of 2019 by fans, coaches, officials and media.)

The Offense

Tony Amonte, Boston University Tim Army, Providence Cam Atkinson, Boston College Brian Boyle, Boston College Bobby Butler, New Hampshire John Cullen, Boston University Stephane Da Costa, Merrimack Chris Drury, Boston University Ben Eaves, Boston College Jack Eichel. Boston University David Emma, Boston College Adam Gaudette, Northeastern Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College Rob Gaudreau, Providence Nathan Gerbe, Boston College Brian Gionta, Boston College Mike Grier, Boston University Darren Haydar, New Hampshire Craig Janney, Boston College Paul Kariya, Maine Jason Krog, New Hampshire Shawn McEachern, Boston University Jim Montgomery, Maine Jon Morris, UMass Lowell Mark Mowers, New Hampshire

Gustav Nyquist, Maine
Jay Pandolfo, Boston University
Scott Pellerin, Maine
Marty Reasoner, Boston College
Kevin Roy, Northeastern
David Sacco, Boston University
Viktor Stalberg, Vermont
Kevin Stevens, Boston College
James van Riemsdyk, New Hampshire
Jean-Yves Roy, Maine

Honorable Mention (15): Zach Aston-Reese, NU; Niko Dimitrakos, Maine; Patrick Eaves, BC; Joe Gambardella, UML; Kevin Hayes, BC; Steve Heinze, BC; Chris Kreider, BC; Maxim Letunov, UConn; James Marcou, UMass; Danny O'Regan, BU; Steve Saviano, UNH; Bret Seney, Merrimack; Dylan Sikura, NU; Tage Thompson, UConn; Colin Wilson, BU.

The Defense

Mike Ayers, New Hampshire, G Bob Beers, Maine, D Ben Bishop, Maine, G Greg Brown, Boston College, D Keith Carney, Maine, D Ty Conklin, New Hampshire, G Rob Cowie, Northeastern, D John Curry, Boston University, G Brian Dumoulin, Boston College, D Mike Dunham, Maine, G Jim Fahey, Northeastern, D Matt Gilroy, Boston University, D Matt Grzelcyk, Boston University, D Ron Hainsey, UMass Lowell, D Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell, G Jimmy Howard, Maine, G Chris Imes, Maine, D Brian Leetch, Boston College, D Cale Makar, Massachusetts, D Charlie McAvoy, Boston University, D Dan McGillis, Northeastern, D Peter Metcalf, Maine, D Mike Mottau, Boston College, D John Muse, Boston College, G Thomas Poeck, Massachusetts, D Tom Poti, Boston University, D

Jonathan Quick, Massachusetts, G Bruce Racine, Northeastern, G Kevin Regan, New Hampshire, G Dwayne Roloson, UMass Lowell, G Cory Schneider, Boston College, G Kevin Shattenkirk, Boston University, D Garth Snow, Maine, G Chris Terreri, Providence, G Eric Weinrich, Maine, D

Honorable Mention (15): Andrew Alberts, BC, D; Kevin Boyle, UML, G; Justin Braun, UMass, D; Joe Cannata, Merrimack, G; Jack Capuano, Maine, D; Jeremy Davies, NU, D; Thatcher Demko, BC, G; Rick Di-Pietro, BU, G; Jon Gillies, PC, G; Michael Matheson, BC, D; Chad Ruhwedel, UML, D; Chris Therrien, PC, D; Brad Thiessen, NU, G; Trevor vanRiemsdyk, UNH, D; Jake Walman, PC, D.

HEA





















